The Horror

I spent Halloween visiting my favourite, dingy little bookshop in town. It’s a crooked little place, absolutely packed with books – the shelves are overflowing, the corridors are narrow and there are stacks of paperbacks everywhere you look. It has a lot in common with my bedroom at the moment.


Whenever I visit I am strongly reminded of the opening scene from Ghostbusters – where the librarian wanders between shelves and the books mysteriously rearrange themselves – and being Halloween I purchased two books which seemed in keeping with the theme.


A first edition hardback of Insomnia by Stephen King and The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman. I haven’t read either before, so perhaps I’ll be in for a spooky surprise.

In other news, I also purchased a new duvet and a set of new pillows like a real grown-up.

Now that truly is scary.

Leave a Reply

